Complete Newby, what do I do?

Discuss anything which doesn't fall into the other categories here.
cec28007

Complete Newby, what do I do?

Post by cec28007 » Sat May 31, 2014 9:13 am

So I just started looking into home energy monitoring systems and stumbled across Brultech on another message board. I want to monitor electricity usage, but what seemed to set Brultech apart was the ability to track natural gas usage as well, which we have on our furnace and water heater.
However, like I said, I'm very new to this and I have to admit, I'm having a very difficult time finding a good intro to Brultech.

Is there a good 'jumping off point' to begin learning the basics? Even reading the forum boards is pretty much over my head. It appears from first glance that Brultech is aimed more at individuals with relatively more advanced knowledge concerning electrical systems. Is there anyone out there that felt this way when they started looking into Brultech? What did you do to come up to speed?

One additional question, alot of the energy monitoring systems I've come across require additional ongoing subscription fees, is this the case with Brultech?
Teken

Re: Complete Newby, what do I do?

Post by Teken » Sat May 31, 2014 1:44 pm

cec28007 wrote:So I just started looking into home energy monitoring systems and stumbled across Brultech on another message board. I want to monitor electricity usage, but what seemed to set Brultech apart was the ability to track natural gas usage as well, which we have on our furnace and water heater.
However, like I said, I'm very new to this and I have to admit, I'm having a very difficult time finding a good intro to Brultech.