Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Ask questions about the GEM here.
Post Reply
lowang
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:53 pm

Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by lowang » Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Hi,
I've been trying to figure it myself, I failed.
I'm looking for the method to reset just one of my pulse counters via http request or post.
I know there is a serial command: ^^^SYSRSP3. It works when sent via serial port.
What would be the URL command I could use with my Vera plug-in?
Help appreciated...
Last edited by lowang on Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ben
Site Admin
Posts: 4269
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:39 am

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by ben » Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:13 pm

lowang wrote:Hi,
I've been trying to figure myself, I failed.
I'm looking the method to reset just one of my pulse counters via http request or post.
I know there is a serial command: ^^^SYSRSP3. It works when sent via serial port.
What would be the URL comand I could use with my Vera plug-in?
Help appreciated...
Could you send the command in an HTTP Post body? It'll throw everything away until it reaches characters it recognizes, once it sees ^^^, it recognizes a command may be coming.
Ben
Brultech Research Inc.
E: ben(at)brultech.com
lowang
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by lowang » Tue Dec 01, 2015 1:37 pm

Hi Ben,

I've tried many times: <GEM IP>/^^^SYSRSP3.
This doesn't do anything besides openining the GEM setup page, counter not reseted..
My GEM is WiFi version.

Could you check it with Ethernet one, please?

Regards
ben
Site Admin
Posts: 4269
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:39 am

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by ben » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:56 pm

lowang wrote:Hi Ben,

I've tried many times: <GEM IP>/^^^SYSRSP3.
This doesn't do anything besides openining the GEM setup page, counter not reseted..
My GEM is WiFi version.

Could you check it with Ethernet one, please?

Regards
Ah right, as it'll render it as a GET request.

Does it absolutely have to be an HTTP request?
Ben
Brultech Research Inc.
E: ben(at)brultech.com
lowang
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by lowang » Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:16 pm

Ben,
it dosen't, I just need a way, simple way of doing that. The idea is to reset the gas counter without touching the others (2x water counters).
ben
Site Admin
Posts: 4269
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:39 am

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by ben » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:44 am

lowang wrote:Ben,
it dosen't, I just need a way, simple way of doing that. The idea is to reset the gas counter without touching the others (2x water counters).
Can you open (or just use the existing) TCP connection and send "^^^SYSRSP3"? It should work via TCP like it works via serial.
Ben
Brultech Research Inc.
E: ben(at)brultech.com
lowang
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by lowang » Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:59 pm

Hi Ben,

I tested SSH and Telnet and it works. Any chance to do the same with URL POST or GET?
ben
Site Admin
Posts: 4269
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:39 am

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by ben » Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:10 pm

lowang wrote:Hi Ben,

I tested SSH and Telnet and it works. Any chance to do the same with URL POST or GET?
Might be able to do it with a POST (put the command in the body). Can't do it with a GET as it'll assume you're looking for the setup page.
Ben
Brultech Research Inc.
E: ben(at)brultech.com
lowang
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Http way to reset one of the pulse counters

Post by lowang » Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:14 pm

OK Ben,
finally I made it, just a simple lua code for sending the POST (via http socket)
Thanks
Post Reply