My Install

Working on a home project? Post it here.
Tirnanah

My Install

Post by Tirnanah » Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:32 pm

Hey All,

First of all, I'd like to publicly thank Ben, Teken, and Sam at SEG for all their help in getting me through setting this up. As noted below, I work on computers for a living, but this power stuff has been beyond me and I'm still learning more and more about it (which is a good thing!). So thank you for your continued help and patience with sometimes obvious questions. I thought I would do a post with pictures of what my install turned out looking like. Hopefully this can help someone that (like me) doesn't really understand what he was doing, but has learned a lot in this process, or maybe give someone ideas that helps them with their install.

Background (skip if you want, it's kind of a rant): I live in Fairbanks, Alaska. Electricity is currently 25 cents a KW and we are expected another 2.5 cent increase from our co-operative (note that I use that term loosely). Our energy is generated with expensive fuel oil instead of natural gas like the lower half of the state. Chances of our rates going down anytime in the next 10 years is nil, and as oil continues to rise, so will our rates (right now the fuel to generate the power I use is about $30 more then the cost of the power I use).

About me: I'm a desktop/server/SQL programming guy by trade. I'm also a saxophonist in a couple small groups around town. I am not an electrician, so take anything that I've done with a grain of salt, and double check yourself on everything! I have basically rebuilt everything in my house except for the outer walls (which is coming, thank you 2" foam and house wrap), and some of the sheetrock on the inside. If you can do it to an existing house, I've either contemplated it or done it.