Dryer Done Notification

Working on a home project? Post it here.
Post Reply
johnstonf
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:03 am

Dryer Done Notification

Post by johnstonf » Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:51 pm

Just thought I'd post my new Dryer Done Notification program...
Works SO far, so use as a test, and let me know...
It uses variables pushed from the BrultTech GEM to ISY...

(Any feedback also welcome, if you see problems)...

(I know it might not cover 100% cases, but 80/20 rules should apply)...



/Fred

P.S.
It has two programs, one sets a variable, other runs when power is off AND variable is SET.
Then 2nd program RESETS the variable...

=== === === === === === ===

DryerDonePt1 - [ID 000D][Parent 0001]

If
$s.Dash_Box_Dryer_32 > 500

Then
Wait 10 minutes
$s.DryerDone = 1

Else
- No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')



=== === === === === === ===

DryerDonePt2 - [ID 005A][Parent 0001]

If
$s.Dash_Box_Dryer_32 < 500
And $s.DryerDone is 1

Then
Send Notification to 'FredCJohnston-ONLY' content 'DryerDone'
Send Notification to 'Ingrids' content 'DryerDone'
$s.DryerDone = 0
Set 'ZW 004 Siren' On
Wait 3 seconds
Set 'ZW 004 Siren' On
Wait 3 seconds
Set 'ZW 004 Siren' On

Else
- No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')
j0dan
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:26 pm

Re: Dryer Done Notification

Post by j0dan » Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:36 am

This may not work as every time the power state variable gets changed to a different number, the program will be re-run. Or, if like me, your DashBox never updated your ISY reliably so it appeared to work sometimes. So unless your dryer uses *exactly* the same wattage for 10 minutes (not likely), it will never trigger the variable change.

Also, if yours is a high efficiency dryer, it probably doesn't maintain a high wattage for that long. Mine fluctuates between 150 and 5400 watts on a minute by minute basis. If yours does that you'll need an extra scripts to detect the start.

Try this method below. Add a new state variable, in my case $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime

Program: Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.test

Code: Select all

Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.test - [ID 0023][Parent 0066]

If
        $gem.fridge > 100
 
Then
        $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime  = 1
 
Else
        $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime  = 0
Program: Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.notification

Code: Select all

Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.notification - [ID 0070][Parent 0066]

If
        $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime is 1
 
Then
        Wait  2 hours 
        Send Notification to 'xxx'
 
Else
   - No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')
Teken
Posts: 2700
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:09 pm
Location: The Bad Lands

Re: Dryer Done Notification

Post by Teken » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:15 am

I've had my system monitor and alert me of every aspect of my homes electrical system for years. Here is some feedback which may help some of you in this endeavor to accomplish the very same.

- Use the Dash Box (DB) to let you know the lowest power consumption once the system is in a idle state. This is what you will program for to know when the cycle is done opposed to just in a paused state.

- Ensure a wait time is included into the program to avoid false trips of the program. There is no need to use wait times exceeding several minutes as this defeats the purpose of real time monitoring and alert notification. If your using long wait times the energy levels you have defined are wrong and its simply a band aid which when line voltage changes will throw you off.

- If people are seeing delays in programs executing there are communications, program logic, connectivity related issues present.
Teken . . .

My ongoing projects thread: http://www.brultech.com/community/viewt ... ?f=2&t=929
Buy me a cup of coffee: https://www.paypal.me/Teken https://gfinotify.com/ Discount Code: PC10
johnstonf
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:03 am

Re: Dryer Done Notification

Post by johnstonf » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:19 pm

j0dan wrote:This may not work as every time the power state variable gets changed to a different number, the program will be re-run. Or, if like me, your DashBox never updated your ISY reliably so it appeared to work sometimes. So unless your dryer uses *exactly* the same wattage for 10 minutes (not likely), it will never trigger the variable change.

Also, if yours is a high efficiency dryer, it probably doesn't maintain a high wattage for that long. Mine fluctuates between 150 and 5400 watts on a minute by minute basis. If yours does that you'll need an extra scripts to detect the start.

Try this method below. Add a new state variable, in my case $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime

Program: Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.test

Code: Select all

Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.test - [ID 0023][Parent 0066]

If
        $gem.fridge > 100
 
Then
        $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime  = 1
 
Else
        $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime  = 0
Program: Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.notification

Code: Select all

Kitchen Fridge Long Runtime 2 Hour.notification - [ID 0070][Parent 0066]

If
        $energy.notify.fridge.long_runtime is 1
 
Then
        Wait  2 hours 
        Send Notification to 'xxx'
 
Else
   - No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')

I agree, it could be a bit problematic...
I made a couple of changes, and it works (so far!)

=== === === === === === === ===

DryerDonePt1 - [ID 000D][Parent 0001]

If
$s.Dash_Box_Dryer_32 > 100

Then
$s.DryerDone = 1

Else
- No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')


=== === === === === === === ===

DryerDonePt2 - [ID 005A][Parent 0001]

If
$s.Dash_Box_Dryer_32 < 100
And $s.DryerDone is 1

Then
Send Notification to 'FredCJohnston-ONLY' content 'DryerDone'
Send Notification to 'Ingrids' content 'DryerDone'
$s.DryerDone = 0
Set 'ZW 004 Siren' On
Wait 3 seconds
Set 'ZW 004 Siren' On
Wait 3 seconds
Set 'ZW 004 Siren' On

Else
- No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')

=== === === === === === === ===
Post Reply